The Cape Coast Castle was built by the Portuguese however Dutch occupation started in 1660 but the British fleet, led by Captain Holmes, conquered the fort in 1665 and by 1700, had upgraded it into a castle which later on was turned into a museum. The museum aims to educate visitors about advent of Europeans to Africa and their influence on the local communities and the Central Region in general.
Within the museum you can find maps of slave trade routes and the items that the slaves were traded for such as glass beads, whisky bottles, and firearms. Auction blocks have been constructed to allow guests to experience just a tiny aspect of the lives of the enslaved.
Other exhibits display swords, guns, gold weights, life size European engravings that depict West African scenes, nineteenth-century engravings of captives on board a slave ship and more. There is also a tour which takes visitors into the dungeons to see the 'Door of No Return'.
The museum is open from 9:00am to 4:30pm every day.